TTO – 2021 February Newsletter

New Metropolitan Status for Affiliates

New Metropolitan Status for Affiliates

 

Earlier this year, The Thelemic Order got its letter of Recognition for IRS 501(c)(3) Status. We are now moving to file for a Group Exemption Letter.

Unlike many other groups, TTO allows member Groups to operate as sovereign Affiliates, outside it’s direct control, bound only by an affiliation agreement. This will continue to be the case, and participation in the Group Exemption is optional!

The tradeoff is pretty simple. The IRS requires participating Groups covered under a Group Exemption to be “subordinate organizations affiliated with and under the general supervision or control of a central organization. ” Groups have the OPTION of signing a Supplementary Affiliate Agreement to participate. In return they’ll agree to somewhat greater oversight of their policy and administration (but not their theological and philosophical practice) by the central TTO authority. We’ve still tried to keep even the supplementary agreement as open and non-draconian as possible.

There’s a Longer Discussion Here.  

Secretary-General Office Hours
We’ll have an Office Hours call on Tuesday Feb 16 to discuss the new status.  
Tues Feb 16 9pm EST / 8pm CST / 7pm MST / 6pm PST
Zoom Meeting Link 

Current News

Initial Nominations for the College of Prelates closes Feb 26

Nominations must be received no later than 5pm Eastern Standard Time  Friday, February 26, 2021 The Clergy of TTO will be guided by a College of Prelates, which will elect a Chief Prelate every two years beginning in 2022. The initial plan was to select the “First Members” of the College after Initiations and Ordinations in October of 2020. Obviously that didn’t happen, but the Chief Prelate has determined that it is important to establish a working College without delaying until we can conduct in person meetings.   The Chief Prelate will be circulating a request to Group Leaders and Ordained and Novice Clergy in the next two weeks, requesting nominations of people who have shown excellence in the three qualities of Administration, Ritualism, and Demeanor. From the overall list of nominations, the initial College will be drawn with an eye towards diversity and geographic dispersion. The College will then consider further members, as well as forming a Committee to review Clergy Applications.

St. Hamilton's Directory

StHamilton‘s Sanctuary of the Crowned and Conquering Child in Albertville Alabama has begun a business directory which we encourage you to look into.  Contact: Info@st-hamiltons.org

Planning Meeting for Thelemic Holy Season March 20-April 10

Planning the Thelemic Holy Season, ev. 2021
Sunday Feb 28, 2021 – 11am EST / 12pm MST / 1pm CST/ 2pm EST / 7pm GMT / 8pm CET
Zoom Meeting Link

Meeting ID: 943 1471 1176
Passcode: 052241

Welcome House of Ani-Kutani, Colorado Springs, CO

In 2020 we chartered 14 Groups in the US and Europe, despite difficult circumstances around the world.  To find out about Local TTO Groups or get in touch with people near you, take a look at the Find a Local Group Listing

Upcoming Activities

Mass

Gnostic Mass - Priorato di Horus/Maat TTO, Catania Sicily

Sunday, March 7, 2021 - 9a PST / 10a MST / 11a CST /12p EST/ 5p GMT/ 6p CET /4am Mon AEDT

Priorato di Horus/Maat TTO in Catania Sicily will host the Gnostic Mass https://www.facebook.com/prioratohorusmaat/

Ostara

Ostara Online Ritual

Saturday, March 20, Time: 8a PST / 9a MST / 10a CST /11p EST/ 4p GMT/ 5p CET

Priorato di Horus/Maat TTO in Catania Sicily will host ann online Ostara Ritual. https://www.facebook.com/prioratohorusmaat/